JHSC Certification Training

Committee members help make workplaces safer

JHSC Part 1   Part 1 - E-learning   JHSC Part 2   JHSC Refresher   En français

Top 3 things to know about Joint Health and Safety Committee Certification training in Ontario

JHSC Certification Training information sheet - please download, print and share

  1. Under the Occupational Health and Safety Act in Ontario, most workplaces with 20 or more employees must have a Joint Health and Safety Committee (JHSC) 

    At least one committee member represents workers and one committee member represents the employer; each must possess JHSC certification.

  2. There are three JHSC Certification Courses: Part 1, Part 2, and Refresher training

    i. JHSC Certification Training Part 1 is an instructor-led course (virtual, in-person, or hybrid), three days in length and includes such topics as occupational health and safety law, rights, duties and responsibilities of the workplace parties, along with duties and responsibilities of JHSC members. This course is also available in self-paced e-learning.

    Ce cours est aussi disponible en français

  3. OWWCO Continuing Education Units (CEUs): The WSN JHSC Certification Part 1 English (OWWCO #14795) course is Director Approved by OWWCO and 2.1 CEUs are awarded to participants who successfully complete the course.

    ii. JHSC Certification Training Part 2 is a minimum of two days in length and focuses on the concepts of hazard recognition, assessment and control, and evaluation of hazard controls; as applicable to relevant hazards in your workplace. Choose from general, mining, manufacturing, printing and converting, or pulp and paper

    Ce cours est aussi disponible en français.

    OWWCO Continuing Education Units (CEUs): The WSN JHSC Certification Part 2 - General (OWWCO #14796) course is Director Approved by OWWCO and 1.4 to 2.1 CEUs are awarded to participants who complete the course.

    iii. JHSC Certification Refresher training is for members granted certification status after March 1, 2016. These members require one day of refresher training every three years to retain their certified status. An exemption for an active member allows the refresher period to be extended, one time only, to six years, in order to maintain certification status. This course is also available in French.

  4. Learning continuity 

    Important to note: Parts 1 and 2 of training must be completed within twelve months of each other. If Part 2 Certification is not taken within the twelve months, a repeat of Part One Certification will be required. Refresher training must be taken within three years of completion of Certification Parts 1 and 2.

Approved training for workplaces with fewer than 20 employees

Smaller workplaces with 6 to 19 workers are legally required to have a worker Health and Safety Representative with Basic Training, also available in French.

Extension requests

A certified committee member is eligible to apply for a one-time exemption if they cannot complete a JHSC Refresher course within three years. The exemption form can be accessed on the Ministry of Labour, Immigration, Training and Skills Development website

Before starting your extension application:

  • Log onto SkillsPass with the email address you used to create your account.
  • Write down your Ministry Learner ID (you will need this to fill out the exemption form).
  • Follow the prompts to work through the application (you will need to click on a verification link that will be sent to your email to work through this process).

Your request must be approved by the Chief Prevention Office before your certification expires. Your request will be reviewed by Ministry staff and processed within 10 business days.